Four candidates have successfully filed nominations for the February 12 Sesheke parliamentary by-election during nominations that closed at 15:00 hours.

The ruling Patriotic Front candidate has fielded Dean Masule while the opposition UPND will go with Romeo Kang’ombe.

Other contestants that successfully filed their nominations are Lifuti Muhau representing the People’s Alliance for Change (PAC) and United Prosperous and Peaceful Zambia (UPPZ) is fielding Victor Kalimukwa.

Nominations have also taken place in seven (7) Local Government By-elections in Anoya Zulu Ward of Chililabombwe District, Munyama Ward of Kabwe District, Mkomba Ward of Lundazi District, Chindwale Ward of Katete District, Chinkutila Ward of Chifunabuli District, Nkombwa Ward of Isoka District and Sewe Mungole Ward of Chavuma District.

At Chitulika Chitulika Ward the PF has fielded Kelvin Mwaba while the NDC will go with Mecksdeck Mwelwa (NDC) and the UPND has Nicodemus Mwewa.

In the Anoya Zulu Ward there is Evans Mwabula (UPND), Kangwa Nsofwa (PF) and Joseph Kazenzi (Independent).
The By-election in Sesheke has been necessitated by the death of the late Member of Parliament, Frank Kufakwandi on Monday 12th November, 2018. The vacancies in Anoya Zulu, Munyama, Mkomba, Chindwale, Chinkutila, Nkombwa and Sewe Mungole wards are as a result of resignations and deaths of councillors.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here